Dear Miss Laurie – February 2013

 

Dear Eva aka. Miss Laurie,

 

Ten days ago you turned 3.

We woke you up, told you that you were no longer two and you practically said, “I think that’s pretty good. Three.” As if you had come to terms with it, had analyzed it and decided it was something you could live with. You accepted the idea of your age like it was the best interest rate your mortgage broker could get you.

Your locks are golden, your legs are long, you’ve obtained purple glasses and you lied to the checkout woman at Countdown by saying I farted, when I DIDN’T! that was an outright LIE Eva! The worst thing is EVERYONE believes three year olds, they’re as honest as the day is long. Except you in this moment, when you proved to me that you’re gonna make a great Lawyer one day.

Today is my birthday and within the first 10 minutes of waking you screamed “Herpy burrday Mummy” in 5 different ways, it was beautiful. I love how the veins on the side of your head throb and the earth shifts in orbit with such joyful exertion.

Right now you are yelling “NO DADDY!, MUMMYS HOLY!” – it doesn’t make sense, but it doesn’t have to. You’re a fighter babe, I can see you fighting for justice in that courtroom already. My early retirement ticket…

It delights my heart when I watch just how much you want to be like me, we have to do our hair and nails TOGETHER. But even more so, how much the idea of wearing a dress is like someone telling you they’re gonna shout you a 10 day all expenses paid trip to Disneyland. The joy in your eyes is like you have just ‘seen’ for the first time after being blind your whole life.

Everyone that knows you, knows you dance. Our biggest joy is encouraging you to be your “Lively” self. Sundays are so much more fun with you in our lives, Worship is a dance party to you. I’ll be lying if I say it doesn’t make me emotional watching you.
I can imagine revival coming from the babies… with little people like you dancing and over throwing environments and atmospheres with your simple joy and love – we won’t have to teach you to change your thinking… we just need to teach you from day one to live in fullness… to keep doing what you’re doing and knowing that what anyone else thinks of YOU (especially in the midst of your Worship) is none of YOUR business. To live everyday walking hand in hand with your Papa in heaven, however that looks. ‘However that looks’.

6 things I’ve so far learned in my 20’s:

  1. Money is important but not the end goal. Keep your hands open, one that gives and one that receives…Your Daddy and I are believers in the idea that giving isn’t ‘giving’ until you feel it… it’ll amaze you to see how much you are blessed when you bless others.
  2. Compare negative words or thoughts with your own truth. They won’t measure up, so don’t believe them, delete them from the memory bank.
  3. A flourishing garden of friends is better than a weed ridden bunch… keep your circle open because everyone needs friends… nurture the quality and rid the weeds.
  4. Sunscreen is underestimated. Slop that stuff on like it’s mayonnaise and you are the bread. Wrinkles are cool when you earn them with age, not with sun damage. As much as Melanoma sounds like a tropical fruit, it is something to beware of… just like poppy seeds on bagels.
  5. Embrace your body, work with what you’ve got… trust me, the sooner you accept that you and every other person are different in looks, shape, weight – the more time you’ll have to be happy and the more time you’ll have for the things that matter.
  6. The best ever investment you could make is the investment into your relationship with God. It will never give you a bad return. Think about it, the more time you spend with someone, the more you begin to learn about them. The more deposits you put into a good investment, the more it has benefits. The more you sow into something, the more you reap.
    This isn’t a ‘works’ thing, as in you look at it like ‘I need to do stuff to get to know God more’ – no… stay away from that train of thought.
    Going deeper in your relationship (with anyone), there is a natural overflow of doing things because of your love for them… I love your Daddy, it’s natural to tell people how much of an awesome guy he is, because I love him… because being with him blesses me…. the same with our heavenly Father. Sow in to your relationship, let that overflow happen, if people are uncomfortable with you stepping out in such ways, don’t be discouraged, just be glad you’re doing something and ‘catching that bus’. (That’s another blog post all together). Pray for the ones who stare. That they will find freedom and liberation too… even if it comes by watching you walk in it. You don’t need anyone elses permission to ‘step out’.

My little Miss Laurie, you’re so girly but so tough. This morning you were break dancing on your colouring book, lost footing and scored some mean carpet burn on the back of your thigh, you flinched, and then shrugged like it was no big deal, just a little flesh wound. And then you reminded us about that one time you crashed your helicopter in ‘Nam. You’re so cool, you’re like those cool guys that don’t look back at explosions. You are my favourite person. Your dad is also my favourite person. I checked the ‘New Zealand Constitution’ and the Bible and there isn’t a single word in there about it being illegal or immoral to have multiple favorites. But you are, you’re my favourite person.

I love how you wake me up in the morning and ask me to sing songs about Icecream and flowers. I love how you sing me songs about Milo drinks and dresses. How you blame your own farts on others. How you want to help me with everything. How you camp out in stealth mode, waiting for the very moment your dad or myself  walk over to sit on the couch, only to ambush us and launch your long Dutch/Maori body on to the very seat we were about to sit in like you we’re throwing yourself on to a grenade Bruno Mars style. How you say ‘Hi’ to EVERYONE. How you call every older woman with grey hair “Grandma”.  I cannot contain your spirit, not that I would want to. But watching you maneuver through life makes me think you are on to something….

You make me feel like I’m doing something right.

I love you forever Eva Laurie, you make me smile everyday.

 

xx

6 thoughts on “Dear Miss Laurie – February 2013

  1. Widge

    Beautiful post. You both sound like amazing girls. Gee I still remember you writing posts to her still in utero. Dear not Charlotte? Or something like that…
    Happy Birthdays to you both x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

